Pet Snake Forum And Discussion Board

Old 03-09-2011, 09:18 AM

Default Feeding and handling

HI

I am the proud new owner of a beautiful baby brazillian rainbow boa. She is my first snake and so I am still learning about the best ways to care for these wonderful creatures.

How soon after I feed her should I handle her again? Ideally I would like to handle her as often as possible. I have been advised not to handle her for 3 days after feeding. Is this correct or can I handle her sooner?
Old 03-09-2011, 12:26 PM
Administrator
Site Admin

You can handle her sooner, just don't do it too much too soon. Wait at least 24 hours and limit your time handling her a little bit for the first few days. If you stress her out too much, it'll cause regurgitation and that's never fun.

And on the subject of regurgitation, if she does happen to ever do it, don't feed her for four weeks afterward! You can potentially kill her :O I know first hand ... I accidentally killed a snake at the pet store I used to work at that way. It regurged so I fed it again the next week and poof, his stomach blew up and he died x.x Not fun! And I felt bad.

Do post pictures of her! Rainbows are so beautiful, especially Brazilians .... And I'm a big boa person, if you couldn't tell *points to siggy*
............| |
..........._\_\____
..........(________)__
.........(____________)
2.3 Red Tail Boa Constrictor (Pan, Andro, Whiskey, Brandy, Morgan)
3.7 Ball Python (Miles, Pudding, Jameson, Daiquiri, Mystery, Lemon Drop, Abita, Sambuca, Hypnotiq, Sin)
0.0.1 Kenyan Sand Boa (Shots)
0.1 Burmese Python (Gwen)
Old 03-09-2011, 03:06 PM

Thanks. I am amazed that you have to wait four weeks if they regurgitate!!! My poor Phoebe will get so hungry in that long period of time. But its good to know.

I have no idea how to post pics, but I'll fiddle around on the site and give it a try.

=)
Old 03-09-2011, 05:06 PM
Administrator
Site Admin